2. Research – Fiction Film

A series that influenced my editing research was BBC One’s SHERLOCK which was written by Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat. The scnes which influenced me most were ‘Suicide Murder?’ and The Blind banker. (3)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4PKr_BVo4hg

 

This was due to the quick cuts they used, they used these to show what happens. We used this on our production to show the audience what was happening to show a greater idea of what the characters were feeling.

When researching about editing I also wanted to add in a sort of mind palace in which is the typical Sherlock style. I researched into how I could do it to incorporate with our edit but soon concluded that with the time scale we had it would be an impossible task. I knew I would have to spend a great deal of time using after effects to create the graphics would be needed.

I also searched on YouTube ‘How to edit Sherlock style’ and was dired to ‘Sherlock: How to film thought’ (4) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfFgnJoLiQE

By watching this it gave me ideas on how I could edit ours but it also made sense on how the editing is done in Sherlock to create the show style that they do.

mind

I liked the idea of the mind palace to show what the characters were thinking regarding the situation they were in. It would create a nice effect on the audience as they’d be enticed as you would be seeing the plan come together in their head in the way they’re going to execute it.

 

5(5)

 

I searched up on YouTube ‘quick cutting in film’ and found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAH0MoAv2CI (6) this video was full on ideas on how to cut with transitions and without, this was a really interesting video to watch as it showed you how cutting speeds and transitions effect the outcome on the film, it shows how important it is to know your film inside out to know what you want in the edit. It shows a series of cuts that he mentions so it gives you the visual knowledge of the effects it has. It shows examples of quick cuts, jump cuts, cross cutting, quick cuts and cutting on action. This was very interesting for me to watch as a gained some advice on how to make our film suit the style we were aiming for.

 

I went to the library and took out a few books on editing and mostly read through a book on audio to help me understand syncing the claps on the camera audio with the boom mic footage we would be getting to give the film the crisp clear audio we needed. This book was called Audio Post-production in video and film.(7)

Leave a Reply

